If you are planning on becoming a real estate agent in New Jersey, there are many steps you should follow. These steps will help you get the real estate agent license, and will prepare you to face the exam. The exam is divided into state-specific and national parts. This will test your knowledge of the state’s real estate laws and regulations. Once you pass the exam, you’ll be able to sell real estate and make money.
First, you should ensure you have completed high school. If you do not, you should consider getting a GED or another equivalent. You must be a lawful resident of the state. This means you have a green card or an appropriate visa. If you do not have a high school diploma, you should apply for the license in your home state. Applicants should also check if they have a criminal history. Having a criminal record can prevent you from getting a real estate agent license in New Jersey.
Once you have completed the education requirements, you can apply for a real estate license in the state of New Jersey. You can apply online or through your sponsoring brokerage. You must pay a fee of approximately $160 for the license. To be a licensed real estate agent in New Jersey, you must take a minimum of 75 hours of pre-license education courses. Afterwards, you must pass an exam, which will be administered by the New Jersey Real Estate Commission.